What a Game! aka. WHY DID NOBODY TELL ME _HOW_ GOOD IT IT??

Home Forums Previous Months 14 – March 2018: Duke Nukem 3D What a Game! aka. WHY DID NOBODY TELL ME _HOW_ GOOD IT IT??

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)

• rnlf
    Keymaster
    Podcaster

I started playing the game a few hours earlier than scheduled. Let’s just pretend I live in UTC+3, okay?

I played the first three levels and I am thrilled! This game is just so way over the top, I love it.

And all the little details they paid attention to like enemy giblets, when they are smashed between doors, they stretch when the door opens, the small rats running around, friggin’ soap on the floor in the prison showers.

The humor may be a bit out of date, but I just love all those little details.

And not to forget the action! It has just the right ratio of “just blast through” to “maybe go a bit more cautious”.

The graphics were still appropriate for the time, I guess, even though Quake was released less than half a year later.

Looking up and down looks a bit weird, but it’s still a pretty cool improvement over what DOOM and DOOM 2 did.

I think we picked the right game for the big Anniversary!

Tijn
    Keymaster
    Podcaster

The “humour” is indeed in very bad taste and hasn’t aged well at all, with all the sexism and stuff. It’s probably the biggest point of criticism you can have from a modern day perspective.

At the time, I liked DN3D’s graphics a lot more than Quake’s. I didn’t really understand the 3D stuff, it just looked like a bunch of triangles without any detail to me. Meanwhile, DN3D looks very crisp at 800×600.

I understand Quake’s aesthetic better now, but I still have a soft spot for Duke Nukem 3D.

rnlf
    Keymaster
    Podcaster

Yeah, the sexism is terrible. It’s the one thing I can think of that you can remove from the game to make it even better.

Luckily, the player doesn’t have to engage in any of this, reducing it to unpleasant background noise.