First impressions

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)

• Tijn
    Keymaster
    Podcaster

So to be completely honest… my first impression of Commander Keen wasn’t very good. First of all the game doesn’t have any music! What?! When I started playing, I noticed the jumping seems to break the momentum when you’re running, unlike Mario for example. This makes it feel quite slow and not very smooth.

But! After a bit of a disappointing first session, the game started to grow on me in succeeding sessions. Finding the gun made the game a bit more fun. I like there’s limited ammo, so the gun is really more of a last resort than something you use all the time without thinking. But the game really started to be more enjoyable when I found the pogo stick. Now the jumping becomes a lot less clunky and more fun!

I’ve only played a couple of levels, but I’ve already found 3 out of 4 parts for my space ship. Is the game really that short? I guess I’ll find out, because I intend to beat the game 😀

wan
    Participant
    Podcaster

Just finished episode 1!

While I got used to the controls, I still can’t forgive the average and sometimes unclear graphics, nor the punishing level design. I can understand smooth scrolling was new on PCs at the time, but this is still a game made 5 years after the original Super Mario, so I’m surprised with how amateur some aspects of the game felt.

The pogo is what gives the game some kind of charm though, and helped me stay interested to the end. The ending (final level + cutscene) is the highlight of the game to me, and made me want to try the later episodes.

I’ve given a try to episode 2, which already looks a bit better. Now that I’m used to the controls and the way levels are designed, maybe my expectations are more suited to enjoy them.